KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 19 May 2016.

PRESENT:

Mr M J Harrison (Chairman) Mr T Gates (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, MBE, Mr M J Angell, Mr M Baldock, Mr M A C Balfour, Mr R H Bird, Mr N J Bond, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr H Birkby, Mrs P Brivio. Mr L Burgess, Mr C W Caller, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, CBE, Mr N J D Chard, Mr I S Chittenden. Mr B E Clark, Mrs P T Cole, Mr G Cooke, Mr G Cowan, Mrs M E Crabtree, Mr A D Crowther, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mr J A Davies, Mrs T Dean, MBE, Dr M R Eddy, Mr J Elenor, Mrs M Elenor, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mr P M Harman, Ms A Harrison, Mr M Heale, Mr C P D Hoare, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr S Holden, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mrs S Howes, Mr P J Homewood, Mr A J King, MBE, Mr J A Kite, MBE, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr R A Latchford, OBE, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr G Lymer, Mr B E MacDowall, Mr T A Maddison, Mr S C Manion, Mr R A Marsh, Mr B Neaves, Mr M J Northey, Mr P J Oakford, Mr J M Ozog, Mr R J Parry, Mr C R Pearman, Mr L B Ridings, MBE, Mrs E D Rowbotham, Mr J E Scholes, Mr W Scobie. Mr T L Shonk, Mr C Simkins, Mr J D Simmonds, MBE, Mr C P Smith, Mr D Smyth, Mrs P A V Stockell, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr A Terry, Mr N S Thandi, Mr R Truelove, Mr M J Vye, Mrs C J Waters, Mr J N Wedgbury, Mrs J Whittle, Mr M E Whybrow, Mr M A Wickham and Mrs Z Wiltshire

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr D Cockburn (Corporate Director Strategic & Corporate Services), Mr G Wild (Director of Governance and Law) and Mr P Sass (Head of Democratic Services)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

79. Apologies for Absence

The Director of Governance and Law reported apologies from Ms Cribbon and Mr McKenna

80. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda

None

81. Appointment of Honorary Alderman

- (1) The Chairman offered a very warm welcome to the meeting to Mrs Jeanne Brinton and her guests.
- (2) The Chairman stated that Mrs Brinton had been regarded by Group Leaders as having given eminent service both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.

- (3) RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that Mrs Brinton, distinguished former Member of Kent County Council, be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman.
- (4) The Chairman then presented Mrs Brinton with her Honorary Alderman badge and scroll.
- (5) Mrs Brinton responded in suitable terms and expressed her thanks for the honour bestowed upon her by the County Council.